Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Lords Of Acid Are "Pretty In Kink," Red Devil Vortex Feels "Something Has To Die" & Shaving The Werewolf Give Us A "One Way Ticket"

Monday, May 21, 2018

New Heavy Metal Music From LIK, The Ocean & Soliloquium

Arriving in early May were a couple of hardcore, death metal releases that may have slipped under the radar. First up is the Swedish metal band LIK with their latest release "Carnage." It was released on May 4th and features ten, face melting anthems like "Rid You Of Your Flesh" and "Celebration Of The Twisted." They keep the speed and energy in overdrive, all the way through to the closing tracks, "Death Cult" and "Embrace The End." To find out more about LIK and their latest release "Carnage," please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/LIKofficial.

Then, a week later on May 11th, the progressive metal band, The Ocean re-issued their song "Rhyacian: Untimely Meditations." The band re-recorded the song to celebrate the its 10th anniversary and to showcase their latest guitar line-up as they prepare to record their next full-length album. To find out more about The Ocean, please visit theoceancollective.com.

At the very beginning of June, we will see the sophomore release from the Swedish doom metal band, Soliloquium. The new album titled "Contemplations," features eight tracks, beginning with the 9-minute growl of "Chains" and the more mystical metal appeal of "Catharsis." Soliloquium continue with the intense instrumental "Streetlights" and the quieter touch of "22." They close out their new album with their return to the howling doom metal of "In Affect" and the 9-minute progressive metal epic "Wanderlust." To find out more about Soliloquium and their latest release "Contemplations," please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/Soliloquium.

Sunday, May 20, 2018

Frank Hannon Flies Once Again "From One Place...To Another" & Thunderbird Return With New Album

Near the end of last year, Tesla guitarist Frank Hannon released his debut solo album "From One Place...To Another, Vol. 1." (review: jpsmusicblog.blogspot.com). It features some of his favorite songs to cover with a few of his friends tagging along. On May 18th, Hannon continues the idea with "From One Place...To Another, Vol. 2." It includes ten more cover songs, ranging from Aerosmith to Black Sabbath to Jimi Hendrix. Plus, he invites a few more friends along to help out, like Randy Hansen on the Deep Purple classic "Hush." Frank works best when along side fellow guitarists like Graham Whitford (son of Brad Whitford) on Aerosmith's "Lord Of The Thighs" and Duane Betts (son of Dickey Betts) on Rolling Stones' "You Can't Always Get What You Want." While these may seem like obvious choices for Frank Hannon to cover, he steps outside his hard rock comfort zone for a funky remake of Chaka Khan's "Tell Me Something Good" and a gentle acoustic cover of Seal's "Kiss From A Rose." The album wraps up with a swinging cover of Billy Swan's "I Can Help" and a rocking, spot on remake of Black Sabbath's "Sweet Leaf," as Frank does his best Ozzy impression. Frank Hannon is currently on tour this summer with Tesla. To find out more about his new solo album "From One Place...To Another, Vol. 2," please visit frankhannon.com.

Canadian rock band, Thunderbird recently released their third full-length, self-titled album last month. The songs were written almost two years ago, shortly after completing their latest album "Heavyweight." This album also features the debut of rising guitarist Brice Tabish, who filled in for the band's former guitarist Rod 'Doc' Coogan, because of other commitments. The new album kicks off with the classic seventies hard rock sound of "Liar (Fool's Gold)" as the song features the only contribution from Coogan. The album continues with the grinding guitar work of "Little Jenny" and the addictive melody of "Star," which will remind you of when hard rock ruled the airwaves. Thunderbird keeps the tempo running on high with "Into The Sun" and the chugging blues of "Painted Lady," before finishing up their new album with the pounding rhythm and screaming vocals of "On The Brink," along with the nearly 8-minute progressive rock piece "Vampire." To find out more about Thunderbird and their new self-titled release, please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/thunderbirdtheband.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

The Neal Morse Band Present The Entire "Similitude Of A Dream" Album Live With New Release

One of the hardest working men in music, Neal Morse, is preparing to release his brand-new live album "The Similitude Of A Dream: Live In Tilburg 2017" on June 15th. It feature the Neal Morse Band performing their triumphant album "The Similitude Of A Dream" in its entirety. The new live release will be available as a 2CD/2DVD set and also on Blu-ray in stunning video quality and sound.

The first disc sticks close to the original album, with very little extra instrumental elements, as the band looks to duplicate the album as close as possible to the original studio release. Morse's vocals sound as good live as they do in the studio as he absorbs the positive vibes from the audience in order to give one of his best performances of the "Road Called Home" tour.

The Neal Morse Band stick to their winning formula on the second disc, by recreating the second disc of "The Similitude Of A Dream" album, note for note. Once they conclude the epic, progressive rock piece with the nearly 12-minute "Broken Sky - Long Day," the encore features songs from Neal Morse's solo catalog and from the first Neal Morse Band album, "The Grand Experiment." To find out more about this latest live album from the Neal Morse Band, please visit radiantrecords.com.

Friday, May 18, 2018

The Spirit Of Wishbone Ash Is Alive & Well With New Releases From Martin Turner, Ted & Majella & Two Deluxe Reissues